Into the Shimmering

I have been reading about the work of Deborah Bird Rose, an American anthropologist who spent many years over here in Australia learning about aboriginal traditions. The last book she wrote before her death in 2018 is titled ‘Shimmering: Flying Fox Exuberance in Worlds of Peril. In it she explores the aboriginal concept of shimmering – a way of seeing the world that recognizes the dynamic interconnection of all life.

At the beach the early morning shimmers across the sea. Transfixed by the light I breathe in the beauty. The park bench becomes a Torrii gate.*

Awareness expands.
shimmering in unity
I am one with life.

*A torii gate is a significant symbol in Japanese culture, representing a spiritual and physical boundary between the sacred and secular worlds. https://whysojapan.com/what-is-torii-gate/

a haibun written for – https://dversepoets.com/2024/04/30/poetics-how-about-a-selfie/

18 Replies to “Into the Shimmering”

  1. Thank you for introducing me to the work of Deborah Bird Rose and shimmering, Suzanne, which resonates with me. Your haibun is a beautiful illustration of shimmering.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love Deborah Bird Rose too – I don’t know if it was the essay you mention or another where she also discusses shimmer, but it is such an enervating concept to unify one’s eye. As you show here …

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I have had that experience, of seeing in an altered way, the world shimmering. I was told it means being connected with the natural world, just as you have written. I had a friend who experienced it in a big way, when he saw everything transform before his eyess into such shimmering beauty he was moved to tears. Beauty abounds.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started